Beauty Reviews · Lifestyle

Satinka Naturals Apothecary and Bistro

I discovered a not-so-hidden restaurant in Makati that serves good-really good food and sells great skin and home products. I’ve been a regular customer before when I lived in Makati. Recently, I joined an online contest hosted by Satinka Naturals. I tried and tested the products I won from their apothecary collection. Now, I am sharing you the products I loved about their brand and of course, my experience dining in a bistro tucked in the busy streets in Makati.

1

sa

I knew about this when I was just passing by on my way home in Barangay San Antonio, Makati City. At first, I didn’t mind checking out the place until one time, I would like to try something new, a new hangout place for myself. Then I paid attention to their signage, “Satinka Naturals, Bistro and Apothecary,” I also read they have coffee from the Cordillera region. Being also from the highlands, specifically, Baguio City, I knew I had to try out the place and I do not regret visiting the place. I regret that I visited the bistro “just recently”!

I remember I ordered a classic chicken Caesar salad and a cup of Benguet coffee. It was as if I am back home in Baguio, where the greens are so fresh and the brewed coffee is just so perfect in a chilly weather. What I love about this restaurant is that the food really is guilt-free. The rice meals? Oh, how I love red rice, the main viand and the side salad- it’s a platter that you ever need to be satisfied! Below are some photos I took every time I visited the bistro.

a
Veggie Meat Adobo Rice meal
Chicken Schnitzel
Chicken Caesar Salad

14079658_1423940167620136_1174308822171384700_n

Their plated meals starts at Php250, if I’m not mistaken. They also have pesto pizza which is I think just around Php100. Their coffee is more or less at Php65, they also have ice teas, hot tea and detox smoothies! Their price for 2 people dining in is approximately Php450-700 only.

18320741_1725459244134892_100796500722657441_o

The contest is just to like and share a photo they uploaded earlier this year. Luckily, I won! I claimed the prizes at their place and the staff gave me a heavy goody bag. I came home, so excited to try all of them!

I wasn’t able to take a photo of each product, its descriptions and ingredients because its label was washed out overtime I was using it. However, I’ll try to explain all of its qualities, here are the items I received and what’s special I found out about each:

Foot cream (100ml)

P_20170616_094235-01

From the label: It is a plant-based moisturizing cream treatment for dry, cracked skin, handmade and natural, contains no harmful chemicals with refreshing, stimulating peppermint oil and soothing chamomile for a perfect treat for feet.

Ingredients: aloe, barbendsis, grapefruit peel extract, Shea butter, Sweet almond oil, essential oils, vegetable based emulsifier, Calendula extract

What I think… about this product is a good moisturizer to pamper my feet. It’s also best when applied before going to sleep with my socks on. My feet would feel soft in the morning.

Body wash

I think this is the product I consumed first! I was travelling here and there, and it’s just convenient to bring. At first, I think the scent isn’t nice, but I understand because I know this is made with natural and organic ingredients.

Hibiscus shampoo and conditioner

Aannnd these combo is the 2nd one that I and my sister consumed first. It is best used together, if to use the shampoo only, it feels so drying, you would need the conditioner. I love love love these products, seriously, I love the sweet scent of Hibiscus. Honestly, my scalp is prone to dandruff, but for these products, I didn’t have a spec of dandruff!

Citronella bug spray

We all know Citronella prevents mosquito bites, right? I like that the spray isn’t foul-smelling like other Citronella products. I still have the spray until now and I use it every now and then, especially when it’s raining.

Massage oil

P_20170616_094308-01

My initial impression on this massage oil that it is just warm enough to sooth those mild back and shoulder strains. I like to massage it also on my tired feet. Also, its smell isn’t too strong like other oils, which is again, a plus for me.

Plant based facial moisturizer with Rosehip and Calendula (50g)

P_20170616_094247-01

From the label: Daily moisturizer with plant based ingredients and organic oils. Skin healing nutrients from herbal extracts leaving your moisturized on a daily basis. Great for oily, combination skin.

Ingredients: Aloe barbadensis (Organic Aloe Vera), Rosehip oil, Argan oil, Extracts of Calendula, Carrot, Avocado, Neem, Chamomile, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Almond oil, Rosehip fruit oil, Lavender essential oil, Xantham gum, Emulsifying wax, Potassium Sorbate, Plant-based collagen, Citric Acid.

What I think… about this product that it is very very mild. Now that I’m back in Baguio, my skin sometimes gets dry and this product is perfect. Its consistency is not runny, it is thick and I can’t resist the subtle sweet smell it has. I wear it day and night, under wearing my makeup and at night after cleansing. It is also great moisturizer for my hands especially when my cuticles gets dry.

Lip balm

Move over petroleum jelly, hello Satinka Naturals lip balm! This balm prevents chapped lips and it’s sweet! I gave it to my dear sister, she used it up all at once, ‘nuff said!

Aroma therapy roll-on

I’m not a fan of strong scents, I thought this one would cause me headache, but it did not. This product claims that it will help you calm your nerves to sleep better. Every time I cannot sleep right away at night, I just rub this roll-on in my hands and just lie down, sniffing indirectly with its scent, and true to its claim, it makes me sleep soundly.

Tip: Best to order your meals ahead or reserve a table ahead. Their service sometimes takes time especially when it’s loaded with a lot of people. But trust me, the food is worth the wait.

Also, most likely, they hold events during Friday and Saturday nights. I have tried attending at their spoken poetry and jam sessions, it’s amazing.

Disclaimer: Satinka Naturals didn’t ask me to review their products and post it online. I like to blog and share it to everyone.

 

One thought on “Satinka Naturals Apothecary and Bistro

Leave a comment